Full Term…finally

I’ve made it, I’m here, I’m finally full term. A whole 37 weeks of pregnancy. Which for me is a little like a prison sentence, I’m just not good at being pregnant. There really isn’t a lot about it I enjoy. All this – ‘You are creating a human being malarky’, yes, yes, well done me, but can he just be here already, I’m much better at the cuddling and caring for the human being bit.

It’s been a fairly bumpy ride, and bumpy itself is MASSIVE. In these final weeks, I’ve had many growth scans. In which one of them, the scanographer actually said to me…’ok, hold your breath, this baby is big, he is due to weigh 11 pounds by your due date’. On top of that I have a condition called Polyhydraminos, which basically means I am also carrying alot of water as well, so my bump is huge and droopy and I can hardly hold myself up without toppling over. But my consultant called me a ‘strong mummy’ for coping, which was just the pat on the back I needed.

So I’m finally at the last hurdle. The last few weeks are the worst, you’re filled with anxiety about what’s to come. Every little twinge you think is a sign. The entire last trimester symptoms come at once and you are dealing with insomnia, nesting, fatigue, the big clear out of your bowels, the aches and pains, the braxton hicks, the breathlessness. I could go on! But all is gearing up towards the big event. I’m prepared in every way, my organisation skills have exceeded themselves and I am fully prepared for every eventuality. All I’m not quite ready for is, how my little girl Moo is going to take it. She is a bundle of fun and energy right now, but she has had 3 solid years of mummy and daddies sole attention, and boy does she thrive off of it. To top it off, she is also starting at her big girls nursery the same friggin week that I am booked for my c-section, so her little world is going to be completely shaken. I’m really worried about it to be honest. Any advice from other mummies who’ve been through this before is MOST welcome. I’ve got her the obligatory ‘present from the baby’, and a massive box of toys, and crafty bits for when mummy is away in hospital, so she remembers how loved she is. I’ve prepared all the family to fuss over her still and not the baby. But no doubt it is all still going to rock her little world and cause inevitable jealous emotions.

My diary past September 17th is completely empty. I have no idea what comes next, but I’m so so ready for whatever life throws at me. The next time you hear from me will hopefully be with my wonderful birth story! Eeekk

Wish me luck,

screenshot_36

Mrs.E

x

Leave a comment